You should know when to stop

I’m kind of taking part of the One Game A Month year-long game jam. Its not a game jam in the usual sense… but that was the best I could tackle in a setence. It’s a challenge to create a new game every month. So far, things haven’t been much of a success, I’m still not quite finished with my january entry. But I just found new motivation to finish it as soon as possible!

First, a brief introduction to this game. I’m making a game using some concepts from my first game “Loneliness“… Since there’s only one concept in that game it should be pretty obvious that I’m messing again with colors. But, this time, there’s solid gameplay, a nice score system and user created content. But that’s what I’m willing to say about it.

I intented to make it in a month and post here the complete result afterward. I should had known better than to belive that… That’s why I’ve yet to make a single post about it. Still, the game itself (logic-wise and pretty much graphic wise) is finished. I’ve still got to tweak some things and there’s a TODO-list haunting me on the table… I also want to expand the game and make some more levels.

Well, that’s it for the updates… now, on to the main topic!

I know how important polish is. That’s why I’ve halted expanding the game in order to finish it. There are many details I still have to do and I wanted to keep it all simple. But, in doing do so I got a boring “You failed” screen. It indeed send the message, but there was something amiss… Normally I would leave things as is and move on. But then I had an interesting idea and tried to implement it. Five minutes later the screen was much better. It still tell the player that they failed, but in a nicer way (somewhat… this it is never a nice thing to say… xD)

Still, there is no meaning in wasting days trying to compose a main menu song (which already took me 3 days to get to nowhere) while there are many more tangible problems in my current reach. Also I shouldn’t worry about how I’ll make the user created levels shareable. I’ll just leave everything else ready, then I think about it.

I fell that I lost the point in my mind while I wrote the first half of the post… I really should stop surfing the internet while writing a post… Well, what I meant is: Instead of trying to do something that you don’t want at all, find an easy and simple feature to be added and work on it! Afterward, you should get a motivation boost. (unfortunatelly, those doesn’t last long… see, I’m writing a post when I could be making a game… so much for motivation…. xD)

Leave a Reply

