Player movement and a basic tilemap

A small update on “Color Runner 2”.

gfm_colorrunner2_ss0

It’s still quite boring… but I’ll probably follow this style

I finished the basic controls for the player. There’s nothing fancy yet, but I’ll add at least wall jump later! So far, it accelerates not too fast or too slow, walk and run at reasonable speeds (perhaps the running speed is weird… I’ll see that again later) and jumping… sucks! I’ve yet to implement a variable height jump, and I don’t like the current raising/falling speeds. I’ll fix that later, though; there are other priorities now.

I’ve also done some work on the map. I’m using two tilemaps so far, one for the background and another for the floor. I’m not really happy with the results, so I’ll add another one for the foreground and the scenery (like grass, tree and other details). Another thing I still have to do is add the “colored platforms”. There’s no meaning to this game without those… But I think will have to make another editor to be able to create levels the way I want…

I won’t have a playable demo anytime soon, and if I try to make this the way I really want, I don’t think I’ll be finished by the end of year. Still, there’s no need to rush things. I’ll keep going slowly but trying to make it into a really good game.

Leave a Reply

