LD#31, prelude

Two weeks ago was Ludum Dare, and I just noticed that there are a few games I’ve yet to talk about here… I’d better take that off of the to-do list before talking about this last LD…

True Sight – Global Game Jam 2014

though I don't advise you to do so...

Click to play…

It’s been just a little while since I’ve made this game… mere 11 months ago (back in January/2014)… And I’ve yet to say a single thing about it…

Well, I took part of this year GGJ with two friends, but stuff happened and they gave up on the evening of the first day, when we had as few as only a vague idea and, background I had started drawing before and a character facing right. I refused to give up and finished the game as I understood it, during the second day. Since I didn’t have a lot of time and didn’t understand the idea completely, the game became a complete mess… also, it’s pretty unplayable (as in, it makes no sense and you’ll lose really quickly).

Also, I’ve made a timelapse for this game:

On the plus side, I started drawing some big sprites during this jam… It also has some cute/funny graphics and I like the color I used for the background (though, yeah… I’m not sure if using warm colors for the BG is a good idea…). On the other hand, it’s a terrible game.

Once upon a castle… –  Campjam 2014

Click to download (windows only)

Click to download (windows only)

Then, I took part of a local game jam with @pinkmonkeyhead. It was fun working in a team, for once. We took quite a while to get an idea we where happy with, and we had to deal with lots of bugs during the jam… The basic idea is: villagers are coming to the castle to save the princess, and you must help them, adding stairs, weapon shops (with cute animal hats… XD), and other stuff. You command when they should use any of those facilities, but some have a cost per person to be used and all have some cost to be built.

It was something like that... I had to merge the sprites, because there's no single assets with a char actually wearing a hat (it was done in-game, only)

We tried to develop it further, but the code was so messy that trying to fix it was worse than simply restarting from scratch. After a while, we gave up and never talked about it again…

we never got to a agreement about the colors... I wanted it like this, but he kept changing it to gray...

My new version of the skeleton…

(I think...)

with @pinkmonkeyhead’s colors

This was the first time I actually tried to make a game in Unity and also the first time I didn’t work with pixel art. It was fun…

The Nether – Ludum Dare 30

Click to go to its page on Ludum Dare

Click to go to its page on Ludum Dare

Another Ludum Dare came and I made another game a 2D pathfinder. I spent around 10 hours getting that feature to work, and my only options were to actually finish it or start from scratch (that game wouldn’t work without it…). It makes only sense that after so much time spent on a stupid feature, I didn’t have too long to work on the actual game… So both graphics and gameplay are really lacking, here… Also, since I hard coded somethings to the pathfinder, like every character speed, both the player and the enemies moves at the same speed (which is the same as the bullet’s…).

Here’s its timelapse:

I want to someday further develop that pathfinder. It would be really useful to make something like this: Nodal Movement (by squidi). That would be great to developing a platformer for mobile…

By the way, I intent this to be my last game in Flash. I want to port a few of my current games to C (and maybe release it to Android…)

Bug Squasher

This gif really sums up what the game is about

Click to go to its homepage

I wanted to make a separate post for this game, but seems like it’ll never be made… After those games and LD#30, I finished a game I had started last year. Originally, I had made it in Flash, but while I developed my own game framework, I decided to remake it. Since I had actually designed it to have touch controls, and I wanted to support at least Android with that Framework, I later released it on the Play Store. 🙂

I’ll someday make it into a proper game… but not anywhere soon.

Leave a Reply

